Parent and Player Question

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Sep 3, 2015
My team was recently eliminated from the playoffs and during our final game we were leading 2 to 1 going to the last inning and we were the visiting team. With one out and a runner on third I changed my pitcher. the new pitcher gets the 2nd out and is one strike away from ending the game before issuing a walk. Both runners score on the next hit and we lose 3 to 2. The mother of the pitcher takes her daughter from the team before we meet as a team and states that I should have never pitched her in the game because it was too much pressure. This girl is eligible to be on the team next season. How should I address this? With the player or parents or both. I'm a 2nd year coach, btw. Coach M.

Jun 11, 2013
I would address it, but not together. The kid needs to know that you put her in because you believe in her. Make sure she knows she didn't lose the game, the team did. The parent on the other hand I would tell her that it's not acceptable what she did. She may pull her anyway, but if you have any chance to make the kid feel better do it. She has to live with this mother all of her life so she deserves a break.

JAD

Feb 20, 2012
Georgia
Just about anyone can pitch with an 8 run lead....but the cream rises to the top when the game is on the line and every pitch is critical!

Dec 19, 2012