Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Infield Fly Rule fun

Oct 25, 2013
69
6
DFW Area
definitely not an infield fly as it could not be caught with ordinary effort.

" If the umpire called Infield fly immediately the Runners would have stayed on the base. " - I've called 20+ yrs and have rarely, if ever, seen the baserunners hear the IFF call and react accordingly.
 

Mar 28, 2014
42
8
How could anyone say that the SS could have caught that with ordinary effort? Lol..... Those are some umps who don't really know the game. Know the rules? Yes/maybe. Know the game? Nope.

She immediately got a jump on the ball and ran towards it. What more could she have done? So without the presence of being able to catch it with ordinary effort, which is required in order to call an IF, there is no IF. Nothing else matters if that aspect is not established.
 
May 16, 2016
366
18
Illinois
After watching that replay. I would say that the IFF should not have been called. Run scores, batter is safe at first, and I could not see but I would assume there was a force out at third. Should be two outs and runners on 1st and 2nd base after the play.
 
Mar 6, 2018
44
8
saw a similar play at a 12u game last week. Runners 1st and 2nd w/1 out. POP fly to SS over her head. Ball drops and runner is thrown out at 3rd (hesitated on hit). No IF called until after play was dead. Umps then called the batter out on IF Rule and did not reverse the force out at 3rd. So a double play on infield fly rule to end the inning. essentially ended the game as it timed out and that team lost by 1 or 2 runs I think.
 
Jan 27, 2019
26
3
I agree, I would not call the infield fly on this. AND the plate guy never removed his mask and there is no possible way he saw the runner touch the plate.

As a note to all who are not officials, some of us care about the profession and the sport and try very hard to get the call right and call the game professionally. There is no perfect umpire and we've not likely ever called a perfect game. But most of us are trying and want to do a good job for you.
 
Mar 28, 2014
42
8
Just noticed something on the video. The ump in the field initially signaled IF by raising his arm straight up. Then when the balls falls to the ground, he lowers it.

So actually the play was called 3 different ways by the umps as follows:

Infield Fly
Not an Infield Fly
Infield Fly.

= Cluster.
 
Mar 28, 2016
134
16
It looks like the infield ump puts his hand up and then lowers it when he realizes the ball is not catchable. Not an infield fly. And with no tag on the runner, I am not sure why the girl advancing to 3rd would ever be called out on an infield fly.
 
Sep 29, 2014
1,702
38
Yeah that's weird the base umpire totally called for the infield fly rule, if he made any verbalization at all why would there be any question?

Runner is safe at third since she advanced at her own risk and was not tagged out, run scores, other runners are safe, batter is out...end of play two outs.
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,277
38
Yeah that's weird the base umpire totally called for the infield fly rule, if he made any verbalization at all why would there be any question?

Runner is safe at third since she advanced at her own risk and was not tagged out, run scores, other runners are safe, batter is out...end of play two outs.
How do you know the runner was not ruled out at 3rd?
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
33,050
Messages
476,870
Members
14,892
Latest member
Lizmcreations
Top