Help With ASA Rule-2nd Base When Walked

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 11, 2010
I am a new coach and I need help with the ASA (Look Back) rule Rule 8 Section 7 T-3a. It states a batter-runner who rounds 1st base towards 2nd base may stop once, but then must immediately non-stop return to 1st base or attempt to advance non-stop to 2nd base.

We were in a tie ball game last night and the girl was walked. She rounded 1st and stopped, looked at pitcher, paused and then returned to 1st base. I called time and to discuss with the umpire and was told to get back into the dugout.

1. How does the umpire decide what immediately is?
2. How fast does the runner have to return to 1st base?
3. Don't I have the right to call time out and discuss something with the umpire?

Dec 23, 2009
San Diego
Answer to #1 - depends on the umpire's judgment
Answer to #2 - depends on the umpire's judgment
Answer to #3 - you have the right to request time out, not the right to a time out

The look back rule is one of the most contested rules in the book. Did you pitcher, with the ball in her control in the circle, make any kind of movement toward 1B after the runner rounded 1B? If so, the ball is live and the look back rule is not in play. If the runner simply stopped, looked at the pitcher, then went back to 1B without making any movement toward 2B (understanding this is a HAD TO BE THERE situation), I see no violation of the look back rule.

Oct 23, 2009
Los Angeles