New Coach, advice appreciated

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 6, 2016
Chicago
I apologize, I'm new to this app as well, and didn't realize I had more replies. I again appreciate the people who have responded. We have added a throwing progression, and I've tried to do more stations. After last night's practice, I'm coming to the realization I could have the best laid plans and the desire to help these girls get better, but they are lacking the will to get better themselves. I can try to teach them things all day, and I swear it's like I'm talking to a wall. Not to mention half of the girls didn't show up because it looked like it might rain (it didn't). I'll continue to try as I made a commitment to the team, but I guess I just try to make the season as enjoyable as I can for them at this point.

You coach them all, but you focus on the ones who are willing to give back.

It sounds like your real problem is a parent problem. Holding a pre-season parent meeting where you lay our rules and expectations will go a long way.

Jan 25, 2022
I apologize, I'm new to this app as well, and didn't realize I had more replies. I again appreciate the people who have responded. We have added a throwing progression, and I've tried to do more stations. After last night's practice, I'm coming to the realization I could have the best laid plans and the desire to help these girls get better, but they are lacking the will to get better themselves. I can try to teach them things all day, and I swear it's like I'm talking to a wall. Not to mention half of the girls didn't show up because it looked like it might rain (it didn't). I'll continue to try as I made a commitment to the team, but I guess I just try to make the season as enjoyable as I can for them at this point.

Sent from my SM-S911U using Tapatalk